QuoteThai

Thai Life, live, reflected and quote back

Remember Those Days: Little Buddha

Leave a comment

Today, July 8th, is Buddhist Lent Day or Vassa. Being quite a good Buddhist as I am, I think I have to talk about it a little bit.

Vassa, also called Rains Retreat, is the traditional retreat during the rainy season lasting for three lunar months from July to October. During this time Buddhist monks remain in a single place, generally in their temples. In some monasteries, monks dedicate the Vassa to intensive meditation. During Vassa, many Buddhist lay people reinvigorate their spiritual training and adopt more ascetic practices, such as giving up meat, alcohol, or smoking… (from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vassa)

Being not the good Buddhist as I previously claimed, let’s talk Buddhism in an entertaining way. How about a movie? This movie was released in 1993 and directed by Bernardo Bertolucci. It’s called Little Buddha. The film intertwined two precious stories together: a pursuit of reincarnation of Lama and the story of Lord Buddha himself. The flick is my precious memory as well.

Why I consider it as one of my good memories ?

The answer is so simple. The first time I watched Little Buddha was like an outing to me. We an elementary students could go out of school in the restricted time and paraded on buses to a theater. It was a fresh and fun activity for children. And both quality doubles when I’d shared this experience with the whole class of my friends. I’m still impressed with the movie and even have the DVD at home. But that wasn’t the point. The most important message conveyed in the movie is the great teaching of Lord Buddha. Unfortunately, I realize about this value when I grew much older. That’s fine. At least, the movie sooner or later makes me realize about something.

So I leave you now on the beautiful movie.

Thanks for video from www.youtube.com

Leave a Reply

